Heptathlete Nafissatou Thiam was awarded the Golden Spike Award at a ceremony in Stayen, a brand new multi purpose venue exploited by STVV Sint-Truiden. The Golden Spike Award goes to the Male and Female Athlete of the Year in Belgian athletics. It is a tradition for the Belgian Athletics Federation to organise a poll to designate the laureates.

For the European indoor silver medalist Thiam it is the third time in a row she has been named Belgian Female Athlete of the Year.

After making a successful comeback to the international stage in 2015 by winning gold at the World University Games, Van der Plaetsen received the men’s Silver Spike Award.


Full results:

Golden Spike men:

1. Philip Milanov (discus)

2. Thomas Van der Plaetsen (decathlon)

3. Jonathan Borlée (400m)


Golden Spike women:

1. Nafi Thiam (heptathlon)

2. Anne Zagré (hurdles)

3. Axelle Dauwens (400m hurdles)